As part of Celebration Picasso 1973–2023, the cultural programme commemorating the fiftieth anniversary of the Málaga-born artist’s death, the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra (OFM) has scheduled a series of concerts as a tribute. In the first, which will take place at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, April 11 at the MPM Auditorium, violinist Miguel Borrego and pianist Carlos Apellaniz perform pieces by Igor Stravinsky, Arthur Honegger, Erik Satie, and Francis Poulenc.

Tickets for the concerts that are part of the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra series can be purchased from the MPM ticket office and from the website

On April 8, 2023, it will be 50 years since Pablo Picasso’s death. For this reason, the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra has included in its 2022–23 season a series of concerts that are part of Celebration Picasso 1973–2023, the programme of exhibitions and cultural activities launched jointly by the Spanish and French governments to commemorate the event.

The Auditorium of the Museo Picasso Málaga will host the first of these concerts, held at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, April 11. Performed by violinist Miguel Borrego and pianist Carlos Apellaniz, the programme is related to Picasso’s oeuvre and is part of the 16th Series of Chamber Music Concerts at the MPM.

The first part of the concert features Divertimento by Igor Stravinsky (1882–1971), a piece from the ballet Le baiser de la fée (The Fairy’s Kiss). This ballet was written in 1928 as a tribute to Tchaikovsky to mark the 35th anniversary of his death. Violinist Miguel Borrego will then perform Sonata for Solo Violin, H. 143. Created by the French composer and violinist Arthur Honegger (1892–1955) in 1940, it attests to the composer’s skill at combining Germanic musical traditions with early twentieth-century innovations.

The second part of the recital begins with Six Gnossiennes, a piece for the piano written by French composer Erik Satie (1866–1925). ‘Gnossienne’ is a term coined by Satie and denotes a new type of composition created by him in the late nineteenth century. The Gnossiennes are dances that have become very popular as film, TV, and even videogame soundtracks, and for their versions and adaptations by various musicians over time. The concert ends with Sonata for Violin and Piano, FP 119, by Francis Poulenc (1899–1963), a piece written by the French composer in 1943 and dedicated to the memory of Federico García Lorca.

Madrid-based violinist Miguel Borrego is a member of the concertino of the Symphonic Orchestra of Radiotelevisión Española (RTVE) and won the National Prize for Music in 2013. He has performed as a soloist with the RTVE Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of Santiago, the Spanish Chamber Orchestra, the Andrés Segovia Chamber Orchestra, the Colorado Springs Summer College Orchestra, and the Toronto University Orchestra, among others. He also teaches at the Motril music course and has been a guest lecturer at the JONDE and the youth orchestra of the Madrid region. He is likewise regularly invited to teach masterclasses at the La Coruña conservatory.

Carlos Apellaniz has won prizes in more than twenty piano competitions and has performed recitals at the Salle Gaveau and the Salle Cortot in Paris, the Salzburg Festival (Wiener Saal), the Auditorio Nacional in Madrid, the Palacio de Festivales in Santander, the Auditori in Barcelona, the Auditorio in Zaragoza, the Teatro Victoria Eugenia in San Sebastián (Quincena Musical), the Palau de la Música and Palau de les Arts in Valencia, the Fundación Botín and Fundación Juan March in Spain, he has also performed as a soloist with the National Orchestra of Bayonne, the Andrés Segovia Chamber Orchestra, the Pablo Sarasate Orchestra in Pamplona, the Marseilles Chamber Orchestra, the Grup Instrumental de Valencia, the Plural Ensemble, the Valencia Orchestra, and the Symphonic Orchestra of Mexico City. He is a founding member of the Brouwer Trio.


Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
Arthur Honegger (1892 – 1955)
Sonata for violín solo, H. 143

Erik Satie (1866 – 1925)
Seis Gnossiennes, for Solo Piano
Francis Poulenc (1899 – 1963)
Sonata for Violin and Piano, FP 119
Violin: Miguel Borrego
Piano: Carlos Apellaniz

Programme of the 16th OFM Chamber Music Cycle

MPM Auditorium, 8.00 p.m.
Tue Apr 18, 2023. Austri Musici
Tue May 2, 2023. Quinteto Mainake (PLEASE NOTE THAT THE DATE HAS CHANGED: initially scheduled for May 9)*
Tue Jun 6, 2023. Grupo Harmoniemusik Málaga

Flat rate: €12
Tickets for all the concerts belonging to the 16th Series of Chamber Music of the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra, at a flat rate of €12, are available from the Museum’s ticket office and from the website

*Change of date for the Quinteto Mainake concert
The Museo Picasso Málaga wishes to inform you that the concert performed by the Quinteto Mainake as part of the 16th Chamber Music Series, originally scheduled for Tuesday, May 9, 2023, has been moved forward to Tuesday, May 2. Tickets already acquired for this concert will be valid for the new date, though spectators who purchased their tickets online and no longer wish to attend or are unable to do so can request a refund at the following email address: We apologise for the inconvenience.

Related Activities