The Quinteto Mainake are the stars of the tenth concert of the 16th Chamber Music Series of the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra (OFM). They will play string quintet pieces composed by two titans of the music world, Mozart and Beethoven, at the MPM Auditorium at 8.00 p.m. on Tuesday May 2.

Tickets for the concerts performed by the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra can be purchased from the MPM ticket office and on the website

The Auditorium of the Museo Picasso Málaga is hosting a musical soirée on Tuesday May 2 at 8.00 p.m. as part of the 16th Chamber Music Concert Series, with a programme that revolves around two major figures of in the field of chamber music, Mozart and Beethoven. The recital will highlight the European tradition that had such great influence on the subsequent development of music, with a chamber music group based on a string quintet with two violas.

The first part of the concert will be devoted to the String Quintet in C major KV 515 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791). This piece was composed by the Austrian musician in 1787 during a period of intense creative potential following his success in Prague. It is a luminous composition from the very first notes and leaves no one indifferent on account of its brilliance and the intelligence it displays.

The String Quintet in E flat major, op 4 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) will be the focus of the second part of the recital. It was composed by the musician in 1795, amid the mentorship of the master Haydn, his first signs of deafness, and the heightening of his patriotism in the face of the Napoleonic invasion of various European territories. Its Finale in Presto clearly expresses the flow of tensions and marked the period and the composer’s future.

The Quinteto Mainake is made up of Nicolae Faureanu and Nicolae Ciocan (violins), Razvan Cociodar and Marta Villanueva (violas) and Michiel Struijk van Bergen (violonchelo).

Change of date for the Quinteto Mainake concert

This concert, originally scheduled for Tuesday May 9, 2023, has been moved to Tuesday May 2. Tickets already acquired for this concert will be valid for the new date, though spectators who purchased their tickets online and no longer wish, or are unable, to attend can request a refund at the following email address: We apologise for the inconvenience.

Violin: Nicolae Faureanu
Violin: Nicolae Ciocan
Viola: Razvan Cociodar
Viola: Marta Villanueva
Violoncello: Michiel Struijk van Bergen


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
String Quintet in C major KV 515 (34’) Allegro
Menuetto. Allegretto

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Quintet in E flat major, op 4 (30’)
Allegro con brio
Menuetto. Allegretto -Trio
Finale. Presto

Flat rate: €12

Tickets for all the concerts belonging to the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra’s 16th Chamber Music Series, with a flat rate of 12 euros, are available from the Museum’s ticket office and on the website

MPM Auditorium, 8.00 p.m.

Tue May 2, 2023. Quinteto Mainake (PLEASE NOTE THAT THE DATE HAS CHANGED: initially scheduled for May 9)
Tue Jun 6, 2023. Grupo Harmoniemusik Málaga

Related Activities